Collaborative Project Process #2

I’ve been roughing out some of the key poses for my project The Undying Appetite of Melvin McSchlopp. In many cases it’s been pretty simple, given that I can just use the poses I already drew for the animatic as a reference:

In other instances, though, I’ve had to rethink a few of the poses so they would look better in motion. I gave the characters in this scene stronger lines of action than before:

 

I haven’t drawn my layouts yet, but I talked to Disney character designer Chris Oatley about it and he recommended I model the backgrounds / color styling after Christopher Crumpet (1953), one of my favorite UPA cartoons. I further decided to look at Gerald McBoing-Boing (1950) and the lesser-seen Fudget’s Budget (1954). Fudget isn’t as good of a cartoon as Christopher or Gerald – it’s too unimaginatively informational to be of much entertainment value – but the visuals are nice and would serve as a good model for the more graphic scenes when Melvin departs our dimension and starts eating up the space-time continuum and other such things. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

